Snow and The Best Christmas Music post #1

Today was the first official snow. At least in my book. It has indeed snowed prior to this day, but today it was real because the snow actually stuck. That legitimizes it. It was truly a winter wonderland. How appropriate for it to snow right after Thanksgiving break (aka the-event-marking-the-beginning-of-the-Christmas-festivities). I sat in the Solarium in the Student Union for a few hours working on a paper and gazing out the floor-to-ceiling windows as the snow fell softly to the ground.

I could not help but dance a little in the snow flurries. People rushed past and ducked into buildings, which I could not understand at all. Why did they not stop in their tracks for just a moment to savor the beauty all around them? I love this little song by Ingrid Michaelson and it is most appropriate:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RKscYJAksPs

What I love most about snow is the fact that it falls silently. It is so quiet. So serene. So peaceful. It quieted my soul as I thought about all the things the Lord is teaching me this semester, mainly about keeping a “quiet heart” and  being at peace with what He has ordained for me. This morning in my quiet time I read a quote in Elisabeth Elliot’s Keep a Quiet Heart by H.E. Manning which was a sweet reminder of God’s faithfulness in leading me through every situation and every season of waiting:

Neither go back in fear and misgiving to the past, nor in anxiety and forecasting to the future, but be quiet under His hand, having no will but His.

Thus my day was made to be a lovely, happy, peaceful kind of day. People say I will tire of the snow, and maybe I will. But I think it will take a while for me to get there yet.

In honor of Christmas, I will post what I believe to be the 12 best Christmas songs of all time and the best versions of those songs throughout various point this month.

Number 1: Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas sung by Judy Garland. This is the original version of this song and it was featured in one of my favorite movies of all time, Meet Me in St. Louis:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5g4lY8Y3eoo

Leave a Reply

