And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know/ My weakness I feel I must finally show

But God never issued instructions which He is not prepared to enable us to follow, The contrast between the actual and the ideal, between the reality and the holy standard, is bridged by the grace of God, and by our prayers for the application of that grace. He is our Savior and Helper. As Father of fathers, He longs to show us His way, to lift us when we fall, to forgive us when we sin, to give us the supernatural power to do that which we cannot be naturally.

[Elisabeth Elliot, “The Shaping of a Christian Family”]

One thing of the Lord I desire, for all my life hath miry been– Be is by water or by fire, Oh, make me clean, oh, make me clean! So wash me now, without, within, or purge with fire, if that must be, No matter how, if only sin die out in me, die out in me.

[Dr. Charles Brooks]

He whose life is one even and smooth path will see but little of the glory of the Lord, for he has few occasions of self-emptying, and hence, but little fitness for being filled with the revelation of God. They who navigate little streams and shallow creeks know but little of the God of tempests; but they who “do business in great waters”, these see His “wonders in the deep.”

[Charles Spurgeon, “Morning and Evening”, July 19]

Wherever you are, be all there, Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.

[Jim Elliot]

2 thoughts on “And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know/ My weakness I feel I must finally show

Leave a Reply

