Keeping a Quiet Heart

The future is a very perplexing place. I thought once, foolishly, that perhaps when a person was in college the incessant questions, ‘what do want to do with your life? Who do you want to be?’ would go away. That, perhaps, people would leave you to discover it on your own without their poking, prodding, inquiries making you feel a sense of urgency to decide. I can get frustrated with people who ask sometimes, because they are generally older adults who expect you to know, when in honesty, you don’t. Sometimes I think they have forgotten what it is like to be young and be full of indecision and possibilities and to be all the while trying to figure out who you are as a person and what mark you want to make on the world.

I have hopes and dreams and goals, but not a clue what I’m going to do with all of them. I am not highly ambitious. Perhaps more so than others, but I see that little as a good thing. I want to “Just Not Waste My Hard Things”, as I joke about with my family (Meaning I want to live out the premise of three highly influential books in my life: Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper, Do Hard Things by Brett and Alex Harris, and Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung).

I have general life goals,and specific ones.

Some of my life goals are silly:

  1. Be the First Lady like Jackie Kennedy (please note that I am not serious)
  2. Write and illustrate a children’s book
  3. Sail around the world in a private sailboat
  4. Travel widely
  5. Read extensively

Some are serious:

  1. Glorify God in whatever I do
  2. Work hard
  3. Love others

Some require far more effort than I often would like to put forth:

  1. Learn to conquer my fears
  2. Share Jesus with others

So far these are about all I know I want to do with my future, and I think that is alright, honestly. The Lord will lead as I seek Him and as I live out my daily life in faith and peace. So in the meantime, I will wait patiently and keep a quiet heart.

It cannot be anything but good whatsoever Thou shalt do with me.

[Thomas a Kempis]

Be content to do with calmness the little that depends on yourself, and let all else be to you as it were not.”

[Fenelon]

Here is the opportunity offered. Be patient. Wait on the Lord for whatever He appoints; wait quietly, wait trustingly.

[Elisabeth Elliot]

Lord, give me a quiet heart

that does not ask to understand,

But confident steps forward in

The darkness guided by Thy hand.

[Elisabeth Elliot]

One thought on “Keeping a Quiet Heart

Leave a Reply

