Four Weeks in a Nutshell

I have been sorely remiss in posting. I believe it has been something like 4 weeks (yikes!)… But life is crazy and busy and my weekends have lately been swallowed up by projects and papers and homework, which leave very little room for writing.

So in a flash I will give you the highlights of the past four weeks, along with a few articles pertaining to my everyday life:

Three weeks ago, I went with a few friends to the Parkway at 6am to watch the sunrise and have a time of sharing testimonies and worshiping together. It was stunningly beautiful. Sometimes in the midst of this craziness called life I forget that I live IN THE MOUNTAINS. I like to say ‘I don’t see the forest for the trees’. What I really mean is I don’t see the mountains for the piles of homework and everyday distractions. I am amazed every time I leave campus–this really is the most beautiful place I have ever found myself.

The sun peeping over the mountain tops

The fine group of people I went with

Two weeks ago I went home for fall break. It was wonderful to be home, to be with my family, to see dear friends, to visit my old church, and to work. The funny thing about moving out on your own to a city far away from your home town is that you no longer feel like any one place is your home anymore. I don’t entirely belong in Boone yet, but at the same time, I don’t belong in Cary. I’m a very displaced little person at this stage in life. Its strange going home because everything is exactly the same, but you’ve changed. I’ve learned that I really have to adopt the poem my sister Lynne introduced me to:

While place we seek, or place we shun
The soul finds happiness in none;
But with a God to guide our way,
’Tis equal joy, to go or stay.

Last weekend, my dear friend Katherine Gunning asked the girls in our Bible study to do a photo shoot with her for a project she is putting together for her Women’s Studies class. We had such a bast. Here are a few favorites:

The Close-up

Hannah and I

Laura Brown: my wonderful Bible study leader. She laughs so much. Katherine Gunning: She is precious.

We are crazy

Left to Right: Kirsten, Hannah, Lauren, Laura, Katherine, Me, Lauren.

This week was a flurry of papers and a Communication exam (which went very well….I believe). Last night I went Contra dancing with a few friends and did a cake walk. I did not win anything, sadly, but it was fun anyway. Today I slept in until an ungodly hour and have not really accomplished much of any worth. But this evening I am attending a ballet (a pleasant requirement for two classes) and coloring in my art project. I will have to post pictures of my two big art projects soon. All in good time….

Now for other things: At the moment I am reading…

Crazy Love by Francis Chan

and

Keep a Quiet Heart by Elisabeth Elliot

In my spare time (cough), I am reading…

An Old Fashioned Girl by Louis May Alcott (a comfort book) and The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsail (which I read every fall. Its tradition.)

I have so much I want to write about–each of my classes, life in an apartment, the sights and sounds of Boone, the ridiculous weather, my adventures–but that will all come in good time. Until then, adios my dear friends!

2 thoughts on “Four Weeks in a Nutshell

  1. Dear Friendly Friend,
    I know you feel a little bit homeless but I hope you’ll always remember you have a home in my heart. 🙂
    Love,
    Your Biggest Fan

Leave a Reply

