Standing here, its oh so clear/ I’m where I’m meant to be

I am in love with Boone.

I don’t know the exact moment that it happened, or how it happened, or what made me realize that I this is the place I’m supposed to be. Maybe, to quote from Sleepless in Seattle, “it was a million tiny little things that, when you added them all up, they meant we were supposed to be together.”

I love the wind that can be so gentle or so violent at a moment’s notice. I love how when the sun shines, its brighter and clearer than any other place I’ve ever been. I love the flavor of downtown Boone–how you can walk down the street and there are musicians playing on corners, or hippies selling hand-crafted jewelry, or bohemians giving henna tattoos to wandering college kids. I love that nearly every restaurant is an independent store with unique flavors and atmospheres. (Hob Nob Farm and Black Cat are among my favorites so far. I’ve heard that Our Daily Bread is delish as well) I love that people lay around in Sanford Mall to study. I love that teachers take the students outside for their lectures on beautiful days. I love that there is such an activity as “hammocking” and that you can see what look like colonies of hammockers hanging from trees all over campus. I love Durham Park–a quaint little piece of property near the Colosseum with a brook and tall evergreens. I love that when you look up, there are mountains.

I by no means feel completely settled, and I still get horribly homesick now and again, but I know for a fact that this is the place I am called to and this is where God means to accomplish good in and through me. Coming to this college was worth the wait.

So enough sentimentalism.

Here’s a few highlights from this past week:

-Going waterfalling jumping with a few friends last weekend. Probably the most terrifying experience of my life. I think my highest jump was 50 ft (?!?). But so much fun!!

-Getting to see some Charlotte peeps (including Caitlin Butt!!) for lunch on Saturday

-Experiencing my first Appalachian football game. So legit! I painted my nails yellow and wore black (our school colors). I sat (or rather, stood) in the student section. I hollered with the crowd (kind of a new thing for me). And we won. I think I may just attend every home game.

-Going to CRU (Campus Crusade). It has become my home base for college ministry, which I was a little surprised by. But I have met so many wonderful people and I really feel that God is moving here. I am so excited to be a part of this group!

-Being blessed by an unknown person who decided to pay for me to attend CRU’s Fall Retreat this weekend. I am super excited about the opportunity to get to know more people better and have a spiritual retreat to grow my faith.

-Getting to draw again!!!!! I cannot tell you how super excited/happy I am to be working with my hands at this thing that I so love to do!

All in all, I feel so blessed by everything in my life at this moment. The Lord has been so good to me. He knew exactly what he was doing all along. He truly did work good in the midst of disappointment and uncertainty this past year.

“My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were none of them. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! If I would count them , they are more than the sand. I awake, and I am still with you.”               –Psalm 139:15-18

3 thoughts on “Standing here, its oh so clear/ I’m where I’m meant to be

  1. Laura, I love this. And needed to read it tonight. Thanks for the reminder that God always knows what He is doing and is always working for our good.
    Love you and miss you more than I can say.

Leave a Reply

