In which I blog

In 22 days I head for the hills to join the ranks of Yosef at Appalachian State University. It is my first real Grand Adventure, and I’m entirely at a loss of words to express exactly what my sentiments are.

I suppose I’m also a little blog shy as well… There’s nothing quite as intimidating as a large blank screen that is waiting for words–your words–to be written across it. It makes you wonder if anything you’re saying is worth being said. Well, whether that is the case or not, I will write! A wise friend once told me that I should write about the things I know. Why try to make up stories about those things which I have never experienced? I suppose I thought that works of fiction were far more interesting to people than anecdotes of real life.

I was wrong.

I found an article in an art magazine once entitled, “There is Nothing so Beautiful as Potential”. The article was not of much consequence, but the title has stuck with me. It is something I say to myself every time I look to the future. I have no idea what tomorrow looks like or who I will be or the things I will do or the people I will meet. But, oh! there is potential for wonderful things! And that is beautiful.

And so I will write about life. My life, specifically (I hope you don’t mind!). I’ll simply tell you the truth. Please don’t expect much from me–perhaps no more than a short blurb once a week to tell you about my adventures.

Let the blogging commence…

4 thoughts on “In which I blog

  1. Hey Laura,
    This is pretty cool– a couple of my friends have started blogs lately. It’s like the pre-Myspace, pre-Facebook Xanga days again. I used to not read blogs, but I found that keeping up with blogs is a fun way to commune with/ spy on / whatever friends because it’s all more intimate and interesting than what people throw on Facebook. Maybe I will start my own. Anyway a good way to keep track of your friends’ blogs is Google Reader plus a Google Reader browser extension, check it out!

  2. Hey there! I’m glad you started a blog, and I’m very much looking forward to reading about all of your adventures and the lessons you learn! I’m praying for you, dear friend!

    P.S. I’ll let you know when I start my blog. 🙂

  3. Hey friend! I check your blog often and stuff, you should update once you’re all settled in and you find your classes. 🙂

  4. I can’t wait to hear of your adventures!! It’s like OPGP all over again! Except…REAL LIFE! I can’t wait to read about the mountains, crazy weather, stargazing…etc. pretty much everything I love. As well as you 😉 I may have to visit very soon! Love you buddy!

Leave a Reply

